Walking back to happiness…

What’s the most fun way to exercise?

I am not quite sure what this lady is appearing to be doing, via Photoshop. Presumably that’s bubblegum and she has overdone the inflation. But why is she wearing that odd brown raincoat? Thinking in advance about potential atmospheric conditions would imply an experiment rather than an accident. Actually thinking about a daft thing before you did it.

There was an actual person once – I remember reading about it/seeing a picture – who tied a lot of balloons – presumably filled with something stronger than oxygen – to the four corners of a kitchen chair, and sat on it. And rose high into the air… How did they get him down? Without actually popping balloons? Or maybe they did pop balloons…

There is this thing about exercise, isn’t there? People see it as a virtue to be constantly full of beans and raring to go. And if you’re not one of those mindless leotard-clad leapers-abouters you must be a couch potato. I see it more as a symptom of our having forgotten what we actually are – animals.

To me it seems that ‘exercise’ is a modern concept – at least modern in the sense of post-industrial revolution. I  think of all those generations of put-upon medieval peasants hacking and hoeing at the soil, struggling behind the plough, broadcasting the seed by hand, removing stones from the fields in the frozen depths of winter.

Further back still, I think of the little short lives of our earliest ancestors – how they had to hunt and track their food before they could eat it. And in both cases, how if a person wanted to be somewhere other than where they were, they would have set out to  walk, run, swim or climb.

So I think the most honourable sort of exercise is probably to be obtained through useful physical work – gardening, perhaps, or making/building something. And perhaps the best thing to do is assume  you have only your own body for getting from A to B – therefore you will resort to walking, running, swimming or climbing. Activities like that are free, or at least any expense incurred is more worthwhile than, say, membership of  a gym. They can be shared with other human-beings if required, and can produce a whole range useful results.

9 thoughts on “Walking back to happiness…

  1. The best recommendation I have heard re exercise – as it applies to older people such as myself – is to “be active”. So, gardening fulfils that need with ease and enjoyment (most of the time) and walking is also excellent. I did a year of gym work, of necessity, in the mid ’70s and, my goodness, there were some odd personalities there! However, I can understand city-dwellers finding exercise in a gym more convenient/safer than walking the streets at night.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When we lived in France I walked into the old age pensioners’ keep fit class when visiting the Mairie…..a vision not to be forgotten. All the men had kept on their caps while bending and stretching, the ladies boasted support stockings and a couple of walking frames, the whole thing led by a young lady in a leotard.
    The maire’s secretary said that the whole thing was a great success…the old boys came for the young lady in the leotard and their wives came to keep on eye on them.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. LOL at “full of beans.” If I had to put a more apt / animal word to it than “potato,” I’d identify as a couch-cougar: I CAN be a dynamo; either way, though, I’d never pay anyone / gym to exercise me!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! My FIL is 82… eats fries (chips) and drinks cokes… but he’s ALWAYS in motion… out picking up sticks, mowing the lawn, up on a ladder with a chain saw. I think you’re right about exercise counting for something.

    How are things in the new place?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, exercise just for the sake of excercise really is a new concept! In the “good old days” people had to do physical work just to stay alive. I like your idea of staying active while doing something worthwhile. 

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment